"Red State"

Recommend a good movie, CD, or book in this forum.

Moderators: BillTheCat, Sarah

"Red State"

Postby BillTheCat » Tue Feb 08, 2011 9:43 am

For those who don't know, I am a huge fan of writer/director/actor Kevin Smith. He's the writer & director behind "Clerks," "Mallrats," "Chasing Amy," "Dogma," "Jay and Silent Bob Strike Back," and "Clerks 2," among others. He'd probably like to forget "Jersey Girl," and although he only directed it, "Cop Out" as well.

Well, Mr. Smith has gone in an entirely different direction with his latest cinematic effort. Pretty much everything he has done thus far has been comedy. The upcoming release, "Red State," is apparently a thriller/horror flick. The basic plot revolves around a family of over-the-top fundamentalist Christians loosely based on the Phelps family of the Westboro Baptist Church. (You know them- the "God Hates F@gs" church that always protests military funerals) Only this family doesn't carry protest signs- they wreak holy vengeance upon the sinners in their sights.

And Smith did things very much against the grain from start to finish.

He decided to get out of the studio system and shoot this film entirely as an indie effort. He and an industry friend who signed on as producer raised all of $4 million to make the movie- a paltry sum by Hollywood standards, but it took them 3 years to get it. Then he paid most of the cast & crew next to nothing, yet still managed to lure in such talented & respected performers as Stephen Root, Kevin Pollack, John Goodman, Michael Parks, and Melissa Leo (currently nominated for an Oscar for her role in "The Fighter").