Looking for a Tech Support / IT Job - Already!!!

Sometimes people need the support of a community of friends because things are happening in their lives that have them on the ropes. You can post here anonymously if you like. We'll help you get through it. It's what community is all about.

Looking for a Tech Support / IT Job - Already!!!

Postby Gottoon » Wed Jan 26, 2011 12:56 am

Hey everyone... I am really new to the state of Florida. My company moved me here to the Sarasota corp office from Phoenix, Arizona just before the first of the year (December 30th, 2010). I met a few of you at the SSM Picnic at Silver River State Park last weekend. (that was me in that outrageously green MINI) I had a blast by the way and I look forward to hanging out with you all in the future.

Today, my position at the company was terminated. I was with the company for three years working and then managing the technical customer support department. My new promotion, the one i moved here for, was taking over all the internal Information Technology systems. They were in bad need of general upkeep and dire need of someone to give direction to the short and long term solutions for growth and money saving. I was picked for the job without an application because of my experience and hard work.
As you can imagine I am sort of ](*,) for accepting this new position. Sometimes, the writing on the wall isn't marked in big enough ink! LOL

So, now I live in Downtown Sarastoa with no job. I am turning to one of the only networks of people I know of here in this state. SSM, for any leads that might be able to help me in my endeavor in securing a new job.

I am also looking for any recommendations for local labor and employment lawyers, as I am in need of advice when it comes to my termination agreement. My situation is fairly unique and I need to know my options!

Advice and comments are welcome. Information from any source can be helpful... especially if experience backs it!